African Journals Online

• AJOL, the world's largest and preeminent platform of African-published scholarly journals, is a Non-Profit Organisation that (since 1998) works to increase global & continental online access, awareness, quality & use of African-published, peer-reviewed research

Arxiv

• arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for 2,292,060 scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Materials on this site are not peer-reviewed by arXiv

.Archives Library Information Center

• ALIC of the National Archives provides access to information on American history and government, archival administration, information management, and government documents to NARA staff, archives and records management professionals, and the general publi

Ask A Librarian

• Ask a Librarian. Have a question? Need assistance? Our librarians and program specialists are here to help you

Author Webcasts

• Hear and see your favorite authors discuss their work and how they have used the Library of Congress' resources in their work.  

BASE(Bielefeld Academic Search Engine)

• BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 300 million documents from more than 10,000 content providers. 

BMC (BioMed Central)

• ​At BMC we are dedicated to publishing the best open access journals across our portfolio of over 250 titles and are always striving to drive progress in biology, health sciences and medicine.

British Council Writer's Directory

• This database was created to provide a snapshot of contemporary British Literature, offering unique critical perspectives of the work of some of the writers living and working in the UK today.

BBC Country Profiles

• Users can view full profiles of countries, territories, or international organizations which include history, government, economics, and more. Also included are video and audio clips from the BBC archives. 

Biography

• Created by A&E, this database of biographical information covers a wide range of historical figures, alive and dead.

CIA World Factbook

• Anything you want to know about nearly any country or region in the world, you'll be able to find in the CIA World Factbook. This database offers resources on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 different countries, along with maps, flags, and country comparisons.

Congress.gov

• The official website of the U.S. Congress, this is the most qualified source of information on federal legislative information.

Core

• We deliver services for a wide range of audiences, including researchers, libraries, universities, innovative companies and funders. Process and analyse the largest structured collection of open research with their full texts, manage your research papers, make them more discoverable, and comply with funder mandates. All this you can do with CORE Services.

Digital Commons Network

• The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.

Digital Library of the Commons

• Discover 1,400 collection items, 171 articles, 25 films, 36 teachers’ notes and more. Discovering Literature has been supported since its inception by Dr Naim Dangoor CBE, Dangoor Education.

Digital Public Library of America

• This digital library offers full-text versions of literary classics as well as articles from leading publications in Business and Industry, Communications, Entertainment, Health, Humanities, Law, Government, Politics, Recreation and Leisure, Science and Technology, and Social Sciences.

Directory of Open Access Journals and Articles

• DOAJ's mission is to increase the visibility, accessibility, reputation, usage and impact of quality, peer-reviewed, open access scholarly research journals globally, regardless of discipline, geography or language. DOAJ is committed to being 100% independent and maintaining all of its primary services and metadata as free for everyone.

Discovering Literature

• Discover 1,400 collection items, 171 articles, 25 films, 36 teachers’ notes and more. Discovering Literature has been supported since its inception by Dr Naim Dangoor CBE, Dangoor Education.

Explore Chicago Collections

• Our consortium provides open access for the public to libraries, museums, & archival collections that preserve & share Chicagoland history, art, & culture.

FactCheck.org

• FactCheck is a project of the Annenberg Public Policy Project, a nonpartisan, nonprofit consumer advocate organization dedicated to reducing deception and confusion for the American voter. Users can browse articles related to issues, recent news events, and statements made by leaders and representatives.

(The) Free Library

• Free Online Library: One of the largest online libraries in the world -- Millions of news, trade publications, newspapers, magazine, journal and reference

Genealogical Resources

• The Illinois State Library has many resources of interest to genealogists, including county histories and historical county atlases. Below is a selected list of significant resources available at the State Library for genealogical research.

Google Scholar

• Google Scholar helps students find academic articles, theses, and abstracts. Google Scholar aggregates and ranks articles based on author, publication location and citation record. Top results represent the most reliable scholarship on your topic.

Great Writers Inspire

• This collection of freely available literary resources is aimed at students, their teachers, and at lifelong learners. It contains lectures, eBooks and contextual essays for reuse by individuals and the educational community. ​

Illinois Digital Archives

• Find digital collections of digital archives from libraries and cultural institutions in the State of Illinois, which contains photographs, oral histories, manuscripts & letters, federal government documents, postcards, posters, videos, newspapers, maps, and much more.

Illinois Reads 2024 High School Novel Selections

• The Illinois Reading Council, Illinois Reads, is a yearly statewide project to promote reading for Illinois citizens. 

Infoplease

• This database is a combination of every reference resource you can think of--encyclopedia, almanac, atlas, dictionary, thesauras.

Institute of Education Sciences

• ERIC is an online library of education research and information, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education.

The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism

• The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism is an indispensable resource for scholars and students of literary theory and discourse. Compiled by 275 specialists from around the world, the Guide presents a comprehensive historical survey of the field's most important figures, schools, and movements and is updated annually. 

JURN 

• Search millions of free academic articles, chapters, theses in the Arts, Humanities, Business, Law, Nature, Science, and Medical.

Library of Congress

• The LOC is the official research library of the U.S. Congress. Here you can find access to online photographic databases where you can download photographs from the LOC archives. 

Library of Congress Teen Page

• Resources for teens.

Medline Plus

• Maintained by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, this database provides information on symptoms, causes, treatments, and prevention for over 975 health conditions.

New Advent Catholic Library

• Links to Church documents.

Office of the Illinois Secretary of the State Library

• ​​The Illinois State Library is the principal information resource for state government. The library has a collection of more than 5 million items and subscribes to numerous electronic databases and services that allow patrons access to thousands of additional resources. 

OurDocuments.gov

• Created by the National Archives, Our Documents allows users to read about 100 milestone documents of American history such as the Declaration of Independence, the Federalist Papers, Inaugural speeches, landmark SCOTUS decisions, and more. Users can allow view high resolution images of the original documents and transcripts of the documents' text.

Pew Research Center Research Topics

• The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan American think tank based in Washington, D.C. It provides information on social issues, public opinion, and demographic trends shaping the United States and the world.

PLOS

• A nonprofit, Open Access publisher empowering researchers to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research

Politifact

• A Pulitzer Prize-winning project by the Tampa Bay Times which publishes and evaluates the veracity of statements made by members of Congress, the White House, lobbyists, and interest groups.

ProCon

• Explore both sides of debated issues in a non-partisan format.

PubChem

• A comprehensive database where users can access information on chemicals, compounds, substances, and bioassays.

PubMed Central

• PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM)

ResearchGate

• With 160+ million publication pages, 25+ million researchers and 1+ million questions, this is where everyone can access science

Science.gov

• Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.

Shakespeare's Works

• Shakespeare's Works was published in 2002 by Penguin Books. Although it was one of the largest books Penguin had ever published (almost 700 pages), we were unable to include in it more than a small set of references to the various plays and poems in which the words are found. As the book became known, and increasingly used, we therefore began to think of an online website in which we could include every instance of a word and which would help users to search through the database easily.

Simply Psychology

• This website offers general articles about psychology and sociology.

SSRN (Social Science Research Network)

• SSRN is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks. 

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

• Faculty at Stanford University edit and review this full-text, online encycolpedia. The SEP features thousands of articles on philosophers, theories in philosophy, and terms related to the study of philosophy.

Torch: Postcolonial Writers Make Worlds

• Contemporary Black and Asian British writing is changing how we see and read literature in English today Writers such as Aminatta Forna and Andrea Levy, Daljit Nagra and Kamila Shamsie, Linton Kwesi Johnson and Bernardine Evaristo, have created work that fundamentally challenges prevailing ideas of British literature. Reading them reminds us that British writing has a diverse range of backgrounds and many different histories. This website offers ways into exploring this exciting work.

World Digital Library

• The World Digital Library is a free online archive of over 19,000 culturally significant primary source materials from around the world.